Greetings...Books must state ON OUR SHELVES NOW for same day in store pick-up. We recommend calling (415-495-2992) to verify low stock numbers.

Arabian Sands (Paperback)

Arabian Sands By Wilfred Thesiger, Rory Stewart (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Wilfred Thesiger, Rory Stewart (Introduction by)
List Price: $17.00
Our Price: $15.00
(Save: $2.00 12%)
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jul 2 11:03am
(TRAVEL ESSAY)

Description


"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, [Arabian Sands] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." —The Daily Telegraph
 
Arabian Sands is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life—"the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets." In the spirit of T. E. Lawrence, he set out to explore the deserts of Arabia, traveling among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels. His now-classic account is invaluable to understanding the modern Middle East.

About the Author


Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003) was a British explorer and travel writer. He was born at Addis Ababa, Abyssinia (now Ethiopia). Educated at Eton and Oxford, he worked in the Sudan Political Service and and later, for a year, as a Political Officer for the Ethiopian Emperor, Haile Selassie. He is best known for two travel books: Arabian Sands (1959) and The Marsh Arabs (1964).
 
Rory Stewart (introducer) has written for the New York Times MagazineGranta, and the London Review of Books, and is the author of The Places In Between and The Prince of the Marshes. A former fellow at the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government, he was awarded the Order of the British Empire by the British government for services in Iraq.

Praise For…


"The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life." The Sunday Times (London)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780141442075
ISBN-10: 0141442077
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2008
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Penguin Classics